Flying Near Big Clouds

General club enquiries, talk about any subject you like.

Moderator: Club Moderators

Jim Bittlestone
Regular

Flying Near Big Clouds

Post by Jim Bittlestone »

This is posted on the CSC forum and a timely reminder of what can happen. The flight trace at the bottom of the page is interesting too.

http://www.poweredparaglidingontario.co ... ked_in.htm

Now for the elephant in the room:
This weekend I felt a bit uneasy about flying due to the size of the clouds, as well as the direction on Saturday. I have no experience of flying near big clouds, so I am unsure if my concerns are warranted?
The question is, should I just grow a pair and get on with it, keeping a weather eye or do I have a point?
Not sure if the weekends clouds were just big cumulus growing and disipating or proper CB's? What do others think?
I didnt fly at all on Saturday, the other reason being the direction, eventually flew on Sunday vowing not to get too high or near one of the big uns.

Not having a go about the comp or the organisation and running of the comp as we make our own decisions, and the advice from Kay and others about changing conditions at take off and elsewhere was helpful when the wind increased as forecast.

I'm asking as I'm not sure either way, even in hindsight?
colin keightley
BHPA Club Coach
BHPA Club Coach
Full Name: Colin Keightley

Post by colin keightley »

My personal opinion is if your not happy with the conditions dont fly its got knowt to do with how big your gonads are.
If Acro was easy they'd call it Cross Country

07824 554735
Livetrack24: Colinkeightley
gary stenhouse
Superstar
Full Name: Gary Stenhouse

Post by gary stenhouse »